top of page

Jack Skellington Christmas Tree


A Jack Skellington, The Nightmare Before Christmas Tree

Shortly after Christmas 2016, I decided that the following year we would have a "Jack Tree". Of course this is very fitting for me as I am a huge Disney Fan, and a lover of The Nightmare Before Christmas movie... and all thing spooky! I did a lot of google searching for ideas and found many trees that were amazing and creativity inspiring. I had planned to borrow a white tree from my Mom and her Jack Skellington Halloween decoration, but I knew that I wanted to make Jack look more festive and either make a red jacket for him, or at least have him wear a santa hat.

In October, my daughter and I tried out a cornstarch dough pinterest recipe and made some Jack Skellington ornaments with different facial expressions (he has so many)... they turned out perfect! Finally when the day came to set up the tree and decorate, we were more than ready to see the dough ornaments finally placed on the tree.

My Mom had purchased the large Jack figure at Walmart, it is about 6 feet tall. I used a plastic type thread to tie him to the tree... this wasn't easy, but finally he was in place and just peeking around the back. We bought black and silver bauble ornaments, and used some red decorations from the previous years tree - trying to stay as true to a Jack Skellington colour scheme as possible. I was worried at first that the dough ornaments would not stand out against a white tree, but I now feel that it would not look half as amazing (biased opinion) if we didnt take that chance! We also stuck with white lights, and made sure the strand was white as well, nothing tackier than a green strand on white branches! And we found the most awesome stockings at Walgreens, they compliment the tree well!

As Christmas crazy as I am... Im already thinking of doing the Jack tree next year too, only with multi-coloured lights and possible a couple surprises! I hope our tree inspires your inner creativity to pop, and please feel free to share a photo of your tree on the facebook page. Thanks for reading! ~MrsTwoCents

Comments


bottom of page